Is That You God?

I Have A Question

“My sheep listen to My voice; I know them, and they follow Me.”
John 10:27 NLT

I think Jesus speaks to us today.   The main way He speaks is through His word.  I do think that the Holy Spirit also speaks directly to our minds.

  • Prompting…
  • Convicting…
  • Teaching…
  • Reminding…

His Voice Is Truth

“And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Advocate, who will never leave you. He is the Holy Spirit, who leads into all truth…”
John 14:16-17a NLT

The first way that I can test a thought in my head is to see if it is true.  Is that a true thought?  Does it line up with the truth of scripture?

Allow me to illustrate from my life.  Many years ago I was working in Southern California.  I had a flight from Los Angeles to my home in Sacramento scheduled for late afternoon.  As I was finishing my appointments I got on the highway and realized that I was probably not going to make it to the airport in time.  I really wanted to go home that evening so I prayed about how fast I should drive.  As I prayed about it a thought popped into my head.  It wasn’t an audible voice but it said something like this.

“Of course God wants you to catch that flight tonight.  God wants you to get home to your wife who misses you very much.  Of course you don’t want to make a practice of driving like a maniac but in this case, go ahead and do it.”

Is that God’s voice, my own thoughts or perhaps thoughts that smell like smoke?  Let’s apply the truth test.  Is it true?  You ask, “Is what true?”  Is it true that God would say to a man who was late to a flight that it is ok to break several laws and put lives in danger in an attempt to catch a flight that he it late for because he was to stupid to plan his day better?

“Everyone must submit to governing authorities. For all authority comes from God, and those in positions of authority have been placed there by God.” Romans 13:1 NLT

If the Holy Spirit was speaking to my mind He would not tell me to do something that violates His written word.  God says that government is a good thing.  Ever seen a country that has no government?  Try Somalia.  Warlords rule and people suffer greatly because there is no government.  Government only works when people submit to government.  Even government that you don’t agree with.

You think the speed limit is too low?  Fine, you can have your opinion.  You can call your representative and say so.  What you cannot do, in my view, as a Christian is to say I’m just not going to submit to that law.

“Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to determine if they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world.” 1 John 4:1 HCSB

Is that line of thinking that says it is ok for me to speed true? No… clearly it fails the truth test.  The Holy Spirit never speaks lies to my mind.  What were those thoughts?  Probably my own foolishness speaking.  I had to learn to organize my life so that I could make my flights without driving like a maniac.

That was a pretty easy case.  There are many, much harder ones.  Will we struggle to figure out if that is the voice of the Holy Spirit in this life?  Yes… we will struggle.  If you are not struggling to determine where those voices come from then you are in a dangerous place.  You become vulnerable when you are gullible.

One comment

  1. No where in scripture is a thorn an illness or disease. Paul got stoned near to death and preached the next day. How do you think he managed that?

Leave a Reply

