You did not obey me

When the Israelites cried out to Him because of Midian, the LORD sent a prophet to them. He said to them, “This is what the LORD God of Israel says: ‘I brought you out of Egypt and out of the place of slavery. I delivered you from the power of Egypt and the power of all who oppressed you. I drove them out before you and gave you their land. I said to you: I am Yahweh your God. Do not fear the gods of the Amorites whose land you live in. But you did not obey Me.'” Judges 6:7-10 HCSB

What does God want to do with me? What does he want me to do?  These are important questions for everyone to answer.  Every now and then you get a glimpse of God’s heart in scripture and this is one of those places.  I believe the God allowed Midian to torment Israel to get them to cry out to Him.  He wanted them to listen and when their suffering was enough they cried out to God.

Look at what he says.  I brought you out. I delivered you. I drove them out. I am Yahweh your God. Is he saying “I did this, now you owe me this?” No. Not at all. He is simply saying “Look what I am able to do. Look what I did for your ancestors.” He is giving them one simple command “Do not fear the gods of the Amorites.”  Now we are getting somewhere.  They were living in a foreign land and they began to fear the gods of the Amorites.  What do you do when you fear these false gods?  You worship them.  This is exactly what was happening in Israel. They wanted Yahweh and Baal. Yahweh and Ashtoreth.  After all, aren’t two gods better than one or better yet, three gods?  Better to have all the bases covered right?

I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the place of slavery. Do not have other gods besides Me. Exodus 20:2-3 HCSB

The problem is that Yahweh isn’t going to play that game with you. The first of the ten commandments says “Do not have other gods besides Me.”  With that command God completely rules out Yahweh And ____.  There is room for only one God, one King, one Lord on the throne and he will not share it with others. I believe that by allowing Midian to torment Israel God was showing a severe mercy.  Yes! Mercy.  God was giving them just enough suffering to get them to cry out and when they cried out he sent a prophet.

The role of a prophet is to speak God’s word to you.  Perhaps you aren’t listening, aren’t reading your bible and God wants to get your attention. When you go to church and the pastor brings a message that speaks to you that is what a prophet does. Speaks a message from the Lord.  When I preach, I am acting in the role of a prophet, not foretelling the future, just speaking the word of God to you as I’m moved by the Holy Spirit.  This is a glorious privilege and I never want to take it lightly.

What about you? Are you ready to abandon God and ____?  God and Money?  God and My career?  Until you are ready to make that step you will never experience the blessings God intended for your life.  Your choices will force God to bring suffering your way until you cry out.

Leave a Reply

